June 15, 2024
2024 AERC Masters Scholarship (African Economic Research Consortium)

The AERC Master’s Scholarship, offered by the African Economic Research Consortium, is open to candidates from sub-Saharan countries who have been admitted to one of the AERC Collaborative

Master’s Programs (CMAP) at the following Colleges of Business: This scholarship is a fully funded opportunity aimed at sustainable development in sub-Saharan Africa and the development of well-educated, locally-based professional economists.

In this article, we will explain all the details of the scholarship, including its contents, benefits, requirements, and easy way to apply.

AERC Masters Scholarship Summary

  • Host: African Economic Research Consortium (AERC)
  • Study Abroad: Study in Africa
  • Category: Postgraduate Scholarships | Masters Scholarships
  • Eligible Countries: Sub-Saharan African Countries
  • Reward: Full Scholarship
  • Deadline: May 15, 2024

AERC Masters Scholarship Details:

Founded in 1988, the African Economic Research Consortium is a capacity-building organization that informs economic policy in sub-Saharan Africa.
AERC consists of three main components: research, training, and policy dissemination.

The organization integrates economic policy research, graduate training, and policy support in a network of researchers, universities, and policy makers in Africa and around the world.

The main component of the AERC Master’s Scholarship is a thematic collaborative research project, complemented by other capacity development initiatives.

AERC Masters Scholarship Requirements:

  • To qualify for the scholarship, applicant must:
  • Have applied and been admitted to any one of the listed CMAP universities;
  • Have attained at least a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics or related field from an accredited university; and
  • Female and applicants from post-conflict and fragile states (especially the AERC Masters Bridge Programme alumni class of 2017 and 2018) are highly encouraged to apply.

AERC Masters Scholarship Duration and Reward

  • Full Scholarship

Required Documents for AERC Masters Scholarship

ALSO CHECK: Federal Government Bursary (FSB) Award 2024

To apply, candidates must be ready to submit the following documents;

  • Application cover letter;
  • Curriculum Vitae;
  • Evidence of admission at any of the universities listed above; and
  • Certified copies of transcripts and certificates.

Participating Universities for AERC Masters Scholarship

The Universities are

  • Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
  • University of Botswana
  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Cape Coast, Ghana
  • University of Ghana, Legon
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • University of Mauritius
  • University of Namibia
  • University of Malawi
  • University of Zimbabwe
  • Makerere University

Method of Application

To apply for the AERC Masters Scholarship; interested applicants must;

  • click on the button below to visit the AERC Masters Scholarship page
  • submit their applications for admission directly to the respective universities
  • application procedure can be obtained from the respective university’s website.
  • upon receipt of an admission letter from a specific university, applicants shall upload the following
    • documents on to the AERC scholarship portal
    • successful applicants will be contacted


Deadline: May 15, 2024